October 12, 2013

IMG_0840

I found a dress for this day for the beautiful price of 7€! What a steal and I was definitely feeling myself. After church, and countless hugs, some albeit suspiciously close, we ended up by one of our teachers, Marvel, with hilarious company and awesome food. I am officially in love with gazpacho!

‎[ Gazpacho is a soup made of raw vegetables and served cold, usually with a tomato base, originating in the southern Spanish region of Andalusia.]

It was in his kitchen that Amipa told me that contrary to what she had been telling me all week, she wouldn’t be attending the activities of the upcoming night, my birthday activities. NOW! I knew this was coming because she had told Kip from since when we had gone to Valencia this past Wednesday that she didn’t want to go and thought I would feel slighted. Kip thought I should know because the activities needed solid numbers and counting someone on the fence would throw the numbers off if they ended up as a no-show. So I wasn’t shocked when she told me, however, I was a bit irritated that she waited until the DAY OF to say something. From that instance alone I vowed that I wouldn’t be inviting her to anything else, cause she could flop and not tell me until it was too late.

After lunch, we headed back to our rooms because I needed a nap to survive the night. I woke up in time for dinner and to get dressed to catch the train into Valencia. It was as I was running out the door of the dorm that the preceptora (means dean) called me into her office to basically lecture me that I was with students younger than me and that she was counting on me to be a good influence. Thank you Sunshine, for already trying to put a damper on my night of fun.

Walking down to the road to meet up with the others, I had assumed that the only people going were the ones who were with me in that moment, until I rounded the corner and saw a substantial amount of people. H O W?

The more hilarious fact was that they had no idea where they were going, they were just going to celebrate a birthday and have fun. So on the walk to the train station, approx. 20 minutes, everyone got to know each other a bit. Once we reached the train station, we had a couple minutes to kill so we decided to indulge in some lemon wedges with Titan, cause he had never done so before.

The train ride was a comical one. More jokes and surface information about the attendees. When we finally reached Valencia, we realized that we had a good 30 minute walk to make but over an hour to kill. So we stopped off for fries and birthday niceties, mixed with us running a bit rampant. One guy, Stallion, thought he was so strong that he could stop an on-coming car, but we pulled his crazy face out of the road before his brother could have a mild heart attack, which he followed up with smooching a few of the ladies with us.
IMG_17791

We finally met up with Naveen, and some other members of the TS were with him!! I knew then that it would be a memorable night and I didn’t regret going or the company. We ended up seeing a dancing smurf, and got extra large glasses as tokens of the night.

Happy Birthday to me!!

One thought on “October 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

