September 27, 2013

I got a JOB!!

Today I met with my new boss to discuss English classes in the high-school.

HIGHSCHOOL?!

Help me baby Jesus. Teenagers are by far not my forte. If the language barrier wasn’t hard enough, most of them don’t even want to learn English. They think it’s a waste of time. Believe me, I’m pretty sure that logic is taught generationally, not just adopted. If I’m wrong in the future I will correct myself.

Tonight was AY, and I felt like busting out my stash of lip sticks to rouse my spirits. It’s so important that when you go to a new land where you are the only person who looks like, well, YOU, that you have a firm-ish grasp on your self-esteem. Sometimes you’re going to have to talk yourself out of a funk, because naturally, everyone wants a tidbit of attention, no one likes being passed over.

So despite being surrounded by size 2’s and straight, flowing blonde/brown tresses, I donned my hot-red lipstick and moseyed on to AY. Why not look good for me, if not for anyone else, right?

Feliz Sabado. 

___

One thought on “September 27, 2013

Leave a Reply

